Cell Phone Use
In order to maintain an environment that is conducive to library use and is considerate of other patrons, library management requests that all patrons turn their cell phones off or set their cell phone ringers to vibrate while in the library. If you must make a call, please move to the foyers or the garden, so as not to disturb other library visitors.
Thank you for your cooperation.
The library groups patrons or cardholders according to household; consequently, patrons sharing an address are all grouped together within the library computer system. This means that if one card within the family grouping has a fine the entire family group is denied access to library services (including on-line services) until all fines or fees are resolved. This policy is also found on the physical card application on file at the library which is filled out at the time a card or cards are issued.
Lovett Memorial Library charges overdue fees for items that are returned past the specified due date. All items except DVDs are $0.20 per day. For DVDs, the fine goes up to a $1.00 per day. A one-day grace period allows patrons to return an item one day late without an additional charge. After the second past-due day, the patron is fined for all days that the items are late. This means that after the first past-due day the one-day grace does not apply.
The maximum overdue fee is never more than $5. This amount is reached once the item is six weeks overdue at which time the patron is charged a replacement cost for the item along with a $2.50 processing fee. The library will remove the replacement fee from the patron’s record and the charge will be reduced to the maximum $5 fee if the item is returned to the library undamaged at any time.
All items and materials (cases, books, discs, etc.) belonging to the library that are returned to the library damaged will be charged to the patron upon whose card the items were checked out.
Only two items may be checked out the first time a library card is issued. After first use, the limit checked out on a single card is ten items. Within this ten item limit, patrons are limited to two DVDs and 5 holiday books at one time per check-out.
Library Card Requirements
To obtain a library card from Lovett Memorial Library, visitors must present a valid driver’s license or identification card issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety with their current address. A driver’s license or photo ID from the Texas DPS that does not provide the current address of the cardholder will not be accepted. In lieu of a Texas driver’s license or ID card, Lovett Library will also accept the following valid government issued picture IDs containing their current address:
- Foreign consulate ID cards,
- Texas License to Carry or LTC permits.
Please note, if your picture ID contains an address outside the City Limits of Pampa or Gray County, you must purchase an annual fee card. $15 for Single Person Use, $30 for a Family Card (must have 3 or more people listed).
Though all library cards are free when first issued, Lovett Memorial charges a $2.50 replacement fee for lost or replacement cards. All patrons must present his/her library card or government issued picture ID before checking out any items. If a patron does not have their library card or ID, library staff will not check-out items to them. No digital cards of any sort will be accepted.
Children must be 5-years-old, no younger, and must be able to print their first and last name before he/she can receive a library card; therefore, the child and at least one parent or legal guardian must be present when signing up the child for a library card. If the child is not accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, he/she is not eligible for a card. The parent must submit his/her library card or a valid government-issued picture ID with their current address when signing up the child for a library card.
DVDs/New Fiction Hardbacks — 7 days
All other library materials — 3 weeks
*New non-fiction and new paperback items are also checked out for three-weeks.
**All items may be renewed no more than three times and only if no other holds exist on the item(s). Patrons do not have to visit the physical library to make a renewal or to re-check an item. For greater convenience, patrons may call the library at (806) 669-5780 and renew or access their accounts on-line to renew. Please note, however, if renewing on-line, the patron must renew BEFORE the item(s) due date.
Rules for Using Computers
Lovett Memorial Library welcomes use of its computers and computer services by persons of all ages. Basic computer assistance is available upon request at the library front desk. Because safety and well-being of all ages and the maintenance of our facility and atmosphere are a high priority, the following policies are enforced:
- The library makes every effort to assure the privacy of its patrons in the use of the Internet through safeguards which protect private information. Despite the employment of theses safeguards, patrons are asked to use their best judgment when entering personal and private information into any of the computer terminals, especially credit card and personal identification information. A copy of the Lovett Memorial Library Computer usage and Internet procedure, policy, and disclaimer is available at the Circulation Desk in the Policy manual.
- Patrons will need their Harrington Library Consortium (HLC) library card number and pin number to log onto the computers. The library card must be “good standing” with us and all other libraries belonging to HLC. Good standing means that there are no fines, overdue items, or the library card is not expired. Library circulation staff is available to update your card, renew items, or take payment for fines/fees if patrons are denied access to the Internet. However, the Pampa library cannot accept payment for fines accrued at other libraries.
- The computers may not be used for any illegal or criminal purpose. Texas Penal Code, sections 43.21, 43.22, and 43.24 make the display of obscene material a criminal offense.
- Library computers may not be altered in any way by changing menus, icons, any other computer setting, or by downloading and installing software.
- Patrons are prohibited from harassing, threatening, or disturbing others while in the library.
- Violating copyright laws or software licensing agreements is prohibited.
Any patron who does not agree to or violates the library’s computer-use terms will not be permitted to use the library’s wireless services. Computer Usage is provided free of charge to library visitors with a valid HLC Library Card. Users must agree to comply with the rules for general computer use. Visitors who do not have a Library card must check-in with a current state issued photo ID at the front desk and purchase a temporary voucher.
Violations of any of these policies are grounds for suspension of Library privileges!
Shared Borrowing via HLC (Harrington Library Consortium)
You may use your Pampa library card at any HLC member library. Harrington Library Consortium is the library system of which most of the libraries in the Texas Panhandle belong including Pampa’s Lovett Memorial Library. This means, that you may use your Pampa library card to check out items at any of the HLC member libraries including Amarillo, Borger, McLean, Dumas, Panhandle, etc. To find out which libraries in your area belong to HLC, please visit HLC Directory. Please note, however, if you check out items from an out-of-town library you must return the items to that library. Additionally, if you accrue a fine at another library, you cannot use any of Lovett Memorial Library’s services until all fines are clear.
Unattended Minors & Disruptive Behavior
Lovett Memorial Library welcomes use by persons of all ages and the staff is available to assist them in use of library materials and services. The safety and well-being of all ages and the maintenance of our facility and atmosphere are a high priority; therefore, the following policies are enforced:
- Juveniles under the age of 13 are not allowed in the library unless accompanied by someone 16 years old or older. Individuals under the age of thirteen are the responsibility of their parents/guardians/caregivers at all times while in the library.
- Minors should maintain proper behavior at all times while in the library. If disruptive behavior is observed, staff will bring it to the attention of the responsible party. If the disruptive or destructive behavior continues, staff may request that the minor be removed. The staff on duty shall decide whether or not behavior is disruptive. Examples of inappropriate behavior are as follows:
—Incessant, screaming or crying infants/children,
—Rowdy behavior or rough-housing,
—High volume set too loud on individual devices such as ear buds or cell phones, etc.
- Proper arrangements must be made for minors to be met or picked up at closing time. If the parent/guardian/caregiver cannot be contacted or the promise of a ride is more than 15 minutes past closing time, the Pampa Police Department may be called. If unusual circumstances result in an early closing time, library staff will make every effort to notify the parent/guardian/caregiver.
Violations of any of these policies are grounds for suspension of Library privileges!
Use of the Library Card
The person in whose name the card is issued (and in the case of a child under 18,the responsible adult) is responsible for all material checked out on the card. The library urges patrons not to lend their cards to anyone. (The library reserves the right to refuse to honor a card issued to the person who is not the individual presenting it).The card or other acceptable identification must be presented to check out material.
According to library policy, if a library card is lost or stolen the patron is required to notify the library immediately. The card reported as lost or stolen will then be disabled by library staff. The patron is responsible for all previous fines or fees associated with the card prior to its being reported as lost or stolen. Patrons are not responsible for fines or fees accrued after the card was reported as lost or stolen. The patron must present a state issued picture ID at the library before a new card can be issued. The $2.50 replacement fee will only be waived if the library card was initially reported as stolen.
Only two items may be checked out the first time a library card is issued. After first use, the limit checked out on a single card is ten items. Within the ten item limit, patrons are limited to two DVDs, two VHS tapes, and 5 Holiday books.
The loan period for most library materials is three weeks (twenty-one days).The following are the exceptions: new books, DVDs and VHS are loaned for one week (seven days).
All materials may be re-checked by phone, in person, or online up to three times. After the item has been re-checked a total of three times, it must be returned and made available for other patrons to use. If another person has requested the item, it cannot be re-checked. You will receive two overdue notices by mail. The third notice will indicate that the item(s) is lost and how much you owe. Renewing an item does not erase a fine that might have already been established, but it will prevent a patron from accruing more fines until the new due date.
Wireless Usage Policies
The library makes every effort to assure the privacy of its patrons in the use of the Internet through safeguards which protect private information. Despite the employment of theses safeguards, patrons are asked to use their best judgment when entering personal and private information into any of the computer terminals, especially credit card and personal identification information. A copy of the Lovett Memorial Library Computer usage and Internet procedure, policy, and disclaimer is available at the Circulation Desk in the Policy manual.
Any patron who does not agree to or violates the library’s computer-use terms will not be permitted to use the library’s wireless services. Wireless Internet access is provided free of charge to library patrons with a valid HLC Library Card who have their own devices. Users must agree to comply with the rules for general computer use. Patrons must check-in at the front desk and acquire a temporary voucher good for four hours. Visitors must present a current state issued photo ID to purchase a temporary voucher.
Patrons are responsible for setting up their equipment to access the Wireless network. Library staff will not handle any of patron’s equipment for any reason.
The library staff will not assume responsibility for the safety of patrons’ equipment or for device configurations, security, or data resulting from connection to the library’s wireless network. Staff will not change patrons’ device configurations or download any software or software applications for patrons.
Virus and network security are patrons’ responsibility.